Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Browsing the news today, as I often do when I should be reading, working on my thesis, or doing something equally studious, I stumbled across this story on the BBC News website: “Preserving US Presidential Campaigns on the Web.” What do you know! An international on the work of archivists and curators! Awesome! The video is fairly short, less than 4 minutes. Check it out here: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-19796114

Curiosity struck and I decided to look up other repositories that would have cool memorabilia from elections, it is that time of year, obviously. What better place to look than the U.S. Presidential Libraries!

The John F. Kennedy Presidential Library in Boston, Massachusetts has an extensive collection and ongoing exhibit of campaign paraphernalia, including an online slideshow of some of their artifacts. Researchers can also read drafts of speeches, files of information on what Nixon was saying, and see photographs of Kennedy from throughout his career.

Two other libraries which have great exhibits on Presidential campaigns are the Eisenhower and Carter Libraries.

If you are looking for a one-click option, I discovered The Presidential Timeline of the Twentieth Century which has fantastic online slideshows from the collections of the last thirteen Presidents of the United States.

Do you have any vivid memories of past elections? Do you collect voting memorabilia? Personally, I was pretty sad when my state got rid of the “I Voted” stickers…

